Year of the Pig – Babirussa

Sheng Xiao (), the Chinese Zodiac, is based on a twelve-year cycle, where each year is related to an animal sign. These signs follow the following order rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and pig (being the last or 12th). Interestingly, pig is replaced by the boar in the Japanese (Junishi 十二支) or Tibetan zodiac.

There are different versions of folklore explaining why the pig is the last. Some say because it arrived the last during a race ordered by the Jade Emperor, some say it stopped to feast on food and took a nap, while some others say it had to start late to rebuild its destroyed home.

2019 is the year of Pig. Wish you all a happy lunar new year!

답글 남기기

아래 항목을 채우거나 오른쪽 아이콘 중 하나를 클릭하여 로그 인 하세요: 로고

WordPress.com의 계정을 사용하여 댓글을 남깁니다. 로그아웃 /  변경 )

Facebook 사진

Facebook의 계정을 사용하여 댓글을 남깁니다. 로그아웃 /  변경 )

%s에 연결하는 중